Skip to main content


Choose Amarillo ISD
As a choice district with a flexible enrollment policy, AISD students have the opportunity to choose the campus that best meets their needs, even if it’s not their neighborhood school. Students also design their own specialized educational path from elementary through high school with instruction from our team of 100 percent highly qualified teachers. Exceptional opportunities available from our 5th grade string orchestra to dozens of career and technical programs of study enrich students as 21st century scholars every step of the way.

Learn more and explore enrolling your student in AISD (Opens in new window).

Campus Goals and Performance Objectives

Explore our Campus Goals and Performance Objectives (PDF opens in a new window), which includes our core values, belief statements, and goals.


Texas Academic Performance Reports (TAPR)

Visit the Texas Academic Performance Reports (TAPR) page (Opens in a new window) to view the TAPR.

The TAPR report pulls together a wide range of information on the performance of students in each school and district in Texas every year. Performance is shown disaggregated by student groups, including ethnicity and socioeconomic status. The reports also provide extensive information on school and district staff, programs, and student demographics.

Parent Engagement Plan and School-Parent Compact

To learn how we connect with parents for the purpose of helping students succeed at our school, read our Parent Engagement Plan and School-Parent Compact (Opens in new window).

Palo Duro High School Hall of Fame

High schools in Amarillo ISD induct two former students or community members with close ties to the school into their Hall of Fame each year. Hall of Fame committees are comprised of faculty, administration, community members who are graduates of the school, class officers and student council leaders. The committee accepts nominations for inductees during the school year and announces their names at a program held either in the fall or spring semester.

The list below is comprised of Palo Duro High School Hall of Fame members.

Jim Gardner photo

Jim Gardner – 2024 Inductee


David Hall photo

David Hall – 2024 Inductee


Sandy Whitlow photo

Sandy Whitlow – 2024 Inductee

2023:  Elton Bradley II , Patrick Miller

2022:  David Bishop, M.D. , Robery Priddy

2021:  Casey Jackson Boyd , Kyle Sanders

2020:  Dr. Donald Hubbard , Carrol “Don” Whittenberg

2019:  Janice Easterday , Chief Roy McClain

2018:  Zuleyma Carruba-Rogel

2017:  Rodney Hess , Gary Ward

2016:  Dr. Paul Frazier ,  Evander "Ziggy" Hood

Myrna Russell , William Thomas

2015:  Candy Gibbs , Terry Fuller

2014:  Linda Schlinkman Fuller ,  Terry Fuller

2013:  Melinda Marble Hodnik , Elizabeth Jennings

2012:  Stanton D. Moore

2011:  Joyce Wallace Gilbreath , Lynn Gustafson Haley

Wynn Gustafson Ross

2010:  Laura Gonzalez Rojas ,  Vernon "V.C." Smith

2009:  Rep. Barbara Mallory Caraway ,

Dr. Charles Pybus, D.D.S.

2008:  Jerry Andersen , Troy Navarrette

2007:  Arnie Padilla , Marie Smith Watson

2006:  Bruce Ford , Jim Reid

2005:  Lisa Y. Cherry , Thomas L. Jones

2004:  George Fox, Jr. , Lisa Kaye Wood Miller

2003:  Ike Avery , Leo D. Brittain

2002:  Jim Douglas , Rosemary Patterson

2001:  Barbara Baker Chrostowski , Curtis Sinclair

2000:  Twanna Caddel Powell , Elbridge J. Thrash

1999:  Cindy Groomer , Danny White

1998:  T. Jack Turner , Beverly Wallace Williams

1997:  Thomas Creek , Dr. Bettie J. Horne, Ph.D.

James M. Mims

1996:  Glenda Randolph Buice ,

Dr. Kim J. Nickerson, Ph.D.

1995: Dr. O. Lawayne Miller, M.D. ,

Cloyce Beard Stradley

1994:  Sandra Jean Hite Gray , Johnny Moore

1993: Jack L. Kuykendall ,  Jerry E. Webb

1992: Dr. Larry Lipscomb, M.D. ,  Dr. Rodney Don Williams

1991:  Dr. James M. Chandler, M.D. ,

Dorthory Wood

1990:  Dr. Gary Abercrombie , Willima McElduff

1989:  Gloria R. Cushenberry , William Porter

1988:  Terry Lichtie , Carolyn Osborn

1987:  Elisha Demerson , William W. Lofgren, Jr.

1986: Kenneth L. Ladd, Jr.

Dr. James F. Rogers, M.D.

1985:  Gene Arrington , Charles Hughes

1984:  Jerry Cannon , Manley McGill

Jim Melton ,  Karen Powell Plank

1983:  Diane Dubose , Robert Echols

Donald E. Powell ,  Lynn Sanders